Skip to content

nakrian

khi nok, among other things

Joanna Newsom

I know, I know, this is not exactly a Thailand related post. But, I’ve been feeling a little homesick this week (among other things!) and California-native Joanna Newsom’s masterful lyrics and virtuosic harp-plucking  is more than enough to get me through it. I wholeheartedly encourage you to check her out (please, please do!). Peach Plum Pear, Bridges and Balloons, Sadie, The Book of Right-ON, and Sprout and the Bean are good pieces to start with. You might just get as caught up in her avant-garde style as I have.

Joanna Newsom is not a traveler– well, at least not by choice. “I really would have preferred, if everything I need to do in this life would just come to my front door,” she told Jody Rosen (of Slate.com) in an interview. While this is quite contrary to my own sentiments, I can truly understand how her Nevada City calls to her– it’s very much like how my self-imposed hometown never quite leaves my thoughts. Her warbling song, In California, punctuates her feelings on the matter.

Some nights I just never go to sleep at all, and I stand, shaking in my doorway like a sentinel, all alone, bracing like the bow upon a ship, and fully abandoning any thought of anywhere but home, my home.

Longing for the familiar, nostalgia, sadness– these feelings are not new among the ex-pat community. Odysseus himself wept at the thought of his home and aging family. These feelings ebb and flow, much like Joanna Newsom’s siren-singing. Fortunately, during this latest wave of homesickness, I have her songs to pacify me and to remind me fondly of my roots.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

